

Shire of Esperance

BUSH FIRE ADVISORY COMMITTEE NOTICE OF MEETING AND AGENDA

A Bush Fire Advisory Committee meeting of the Shire of Esperance will be held at Council Chambers on 30 March 2021 commencing at 6pm to consider the matters set out in the attached agenda.

S Burge

Chief Executive Officer



DISCLAIMER

No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Esperance for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. The Shire of Esperance disclaims any liability for any loss whatsoever and howsoever caused arising out of reliance by any person or legal entity on any such act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during Council or Committee meetings. Any person or legal entity who acts or fails to act in reliance upon any statement, act or omission made in a Council or Committee meeting does so at that person's or legal entity's own risk.

In particular and without derogating in any way from the broad disclaimer above, in any discussion regarding any planning application or application for a licence, any statement or intimation of approval made by a member or officer of the Shire of Esperance during the course of any meeting is not intended to be and is not to be taken as notice of approval from the Shire of Esperance. The Shire of Esperance warns that anyone who has any application lodged with the Shire of Esperance must obtain and should only rely on written confirmation of the outcome of the application, and any conditions attaching to the decision made by the Shire of Esperance in respect of the application.

ETHICAL DECISION MAKING AND CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Council is committed to a code of conduct and all decisions are based on an honest assessment of the issue, ethical decision-making and personal integrity. Councillors and staff adhere to the statutory requirements to declare financial, proximity and impartiality interests and once declared follow the legislation as required.

ATTACHMENTS

Please be advised that in order to save printing and paper costs, all attachments referenced in this paper are available in the original Agenda document for this meeting.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1.	OFFICIAL OPENING	4
2.	ATTENDANCE	4
3.	APOLOGIES & NOTIFICATION OF GRANTED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	5
5.	DEPUTATIONS, PRESENTATIONS, INSPECTIONS, PETITIONS	5
6.	DECLARATION OF MEMBERS INTERESTS 6.1 Declarations of Financial Interests – Local Government Act Section 5.60a 6.2 Declarations of Proximity Interests – Local Government Act Section 5.60b 6.3 Declarations of Impartiality Interests – Admin Regulations Section 34c	5 5 5 5
7.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES	5
8.	MATTERS REQUIRING A DETERMINATION OF COMMITTEE	5
9.	REPORTS	5
10.	GENERAL BUSINESS	5
11	CLOSURE	5

SHIRE OF ESPERANCE

AGENDA

BUSH FIRE ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING TO BE HELD IN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON 30 MARCH 2021 COMMENCING AT 6PM

1. OFFICIAL OPENING

2. ATTENDANCE

Members

Cr B Parker Shire of Esperance

Cr W Graham Shire of Esperance (Deputy)
Mr A Stewart Chief Bush Fire Control Officer

Mr G Egan

Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer

Mr W Carmody

Senior Fire Control Officer – West Zone

Mr K Scott

Senior Fire Control Officer – West Coast Zone

Mr R Graham

Senior Fire Control Officer – North Zone

Mr L Mickel

Senior Fire Control Officer – East Zone

Mr S Fowler

Senior Fire Control Officer – East Coast Zone

Mr P Rowe

Senior Fire Control Officer – Urban Rural Zone

Mr P Rowe
Mr T Carmody
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – West Zone
Mr P Luberda
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – West Coast Zone
Mr C Hallam
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – North Zone
Mr P Longmire
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – East Zone
Mr A Perks
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – East Coast Zone
Mr R Chambers
Deputy Senior Fire Control Officer – Urban Rural Zone

Mr S Lloyd Coomalbidgup Bush Fire Brigade

Mr C Govans Gibson Bush Fire Brigade Mr S Schlink Howick Bush Fire Brigade Mt Merivale Bush Fire Brigade Mr B King Mr M Rawlings Munglinup Bush Fire Brigade Mr A Reichstein Neridup Bush Fire Brigade Mr N Ratcliffe Pink Lake Bush Fire Brigade Mr L Palmer Quarry Rd Bush Fire Brigade Mr D Vandenberghe Scaddan Bush Fire Brigade Mr C Scott Six Mile Hill Bush Fire Brigade

Mr S Rothnie Esperance Emergency Support Unit

Ex Officio

Mrs K Naylor Community Emergency Services Coordinator

Ms M Ammon Manager Community Support

Guests

Mr M Rose Department of Biodiversity, Conservation & Attractions
Mr F Petersen District Officer for Department of Fire and Emergency

Services

Bush Fire Advisory Committee: Agenda 30 March 2021

Page 5

3. APOLOGIES & NOTIFICATION OF GRANTED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

4. <u>DEPUTATIONS, PRESENTATIONS, INSPECTIONS, PETITIONS</u>

Nil

5. <u>DECLARATION OF MEMBERS INTERESTS</u>

- 5.1 Declarations of Financial Interests Local Government Act Section 5.60a
- 5.2 Declarations of Proximity Interests Local Government Act Section 5.60b
- 5.3 Declarations of Impartiality Interests Admin Regulations Section 34c

6. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

That the Minutes of the Bush Fire Advisory Committee Meeting of the 16 September 2020 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

7. MATTERS REQUIRING A DETERMINATION OF COMMITTEE

Nil

8. REPORTS

- 8.1 Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Ash Stewart
- 8.2 DFES Area Officer Stephen Peterson
- 8.3 DBCA Officer Mick Rose
- 8.4 Shire of Esperance Emergency Services Karen Naylor
- 8.5 Association of Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades Kingsley Scott

9. GENERAL BUSINESS

- 9.1 Water Bomber Scott Mackie Update Gavin Egan
- 9.2 State Fixed Wing Contract Gavin Egan
- 9.3 Additional Water Strip Ash Stewart
- 9.4 Prohibited/Restricted Burning Periods Gazetted Zone (Urban/Rural)
 Peter Rowe/Ash Stewart
- 9.5 Monday Radio Sched Ash Stewart

11. CLOSURE